Doctor's Data Inc

Hidden Sources of Gluten and Wheat

Many people who choose to eliminate gluten or wheat from their diets may unknowingly consume that food as a hidden ingredient. It is important to read ingredient labels to avoid mistakenly ingesting unwanted foods. Below is a list of foods that may contain gluten or wheat.

  • Wheat and gluten may be found in commercially prepared coffee creamer substitutes
  • Beer, Ale, Root Beer
  • Instant Chocolate Beverage Mixes
  • Baked Goods ( Breads, Pastries, Cookies, Crackers, Cakes, Cupcakes, Doughnuts or Mixes)
  • Cereals
  • Pancakes, Waffles or their mixes
  • Farina, Couscous, Bulgar, Orzo
  • Malted Products
  • Pretzels
  • Semolina, Spelt, Triticale
  • Some brands of Ice Cream, Ice Cream Cones, Fast Food Milkshakes
  • Some Sherberts, “Soft Serve” Ice Cream
  • Frosting
  • Puddings or Mixes
  • Soufflés
  • Salad Dressings
  • Some brands of Ketchup, Mustard, Dry Mustard Powder
  • Gravy, Sauces
  • Thickeners
  • Some Lunch Meats, Deli Meats
  • Many brands of Hot Dogs, Sausage, Meatloaf
  • Bacon, Jerky
  • Tofu
  • Modified Food Starch
  • Cream Soups
  • Dumplings
  • Some Chocolate, Chocolate Sauces
  • Malt (in Candy, Cookies, Premixed Milk Products)
  • Breaded or Flour-Coated Meats
  • Some Frozen Fish and Vegetables (sauces/fillers)
  • Pre-Marinated Meat and Fish
  • Ground Beef that has fillers
  • All Canned Meat (Chicken, Tuna, Beef, Etc.)
  • Monosodium Glutamate (MSG)
  • Meat Tenderizers, foods prepared with MSG
  • Most Soy Sauce, Teriyaki, Hoisin, Duck Sauces
  • Most BBQ Sauces
  • Some Pickles and Relish
  • Dried Fruit dusted with Flour to prevent sticking
  • Curry Powder
  • Moldy Cheese (Blue Cheese, Cross-Contaminated Deli Cheese Slices)
  • Processed Potatoes
  • Alternative Milks (Rice, Almond, Soy)
  • Many Infant Formulas
  • Stocks (Chicken, Vegetable, Beef)
  • Imitation Crab
  • Some Herbal Teas
  • Beverages, including beer and whiskey may contain wheat
  • Distilled vinegar may contain wheat

A wheat ingredient may be “hidden” and listed as:

  • Bran
  • Cereal Extract
  • Cracker Meal
  • Durum
  • Enriched Flour
  • Gluten
  • Graham Flour
  • High Gluten Flour
  • High Protein Flour
  • Vital Gluten
  • Gelatinized Starch
  • Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein
  • Kamut
  • Modified Food Starch
  • “Natural Flavoring”
  • Gum
  • Vegetable Starch

Allergy

Find out more